Performing Glass live at Glastonbury, 2009.

Natasha Khan (aka Bat for Lashes) is a singer-songwriter from the UK with a large array of instruments under her belt. She has released three impressive albums to date: Fur and Gold (2006), Two Suns (2009) and The Haunted Man (2012).

Personally, I think Two Suns is her masterpiece as it offered me the opportunity to fall in love with each and every track.

Fur and Gold contains a few classics you can’t miss like Prescilla and What’s a Girl to DoThe Haunted Man is still growing on me, particularly now I’ve had the good fortune to catch her live for the first time early this week at The Palais (Melbourne).

Bat for Lashes did not disappoint. In fact, I think I declared her as the best vocalist I have ever seen live! Her set just seemed to get better and better with each song. At one point as the whole audience fell silent during Laura I started to feel goosebumps as she sang.

However, despite her amazing vocal performance it was her passion and energy that I’ll remember most about that night. She seemed to be really enjoying herself onstage dancing along and singing her heart out. I have seen a lot of performers get into their own music on stage while in the moment, but nothing like Natasha.

The band with her this tour were fantastic and provided perfect harmonies and percussion to accompany her songs. It was also fun to see Natasha play a range of instruments live during the set. All Your Gold from the new album was a treat live, as were Pearl’s Dream, Glass, and Daniel.

I can honestly say that I am super keen to see her perform again as she gives her everything to her performance. Thanks Natasha for enjoying your moment with us!

Further Exploration:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

