Video: George Carlin performing All Things in Life live

George Carlin was one of my favourite comedians that I never was able to see perform live. He sadly passed away from heart failure in 2008 at the age of 71, and unfortunately didn’t tour Australia (that I’m aware of) since I discovered his comedic talent.

I loved his cool New Yorker accent and he had a great cynical and political approach to his comedy, as well as the fact he was extremely anti-religious, in a very logical way!

He was prolific in the US comedy scene with a career spanning 40+ years, winning five Grammy’s for his comedy albums and he was inducted into the Comedy Hall of Fame in 1994. Carlin was also honoured with a Hollywood Walk of Fame Star in 1997.

He actually was the first ever host of Saturday Night Live back in 1975. In 2004, Comedy Central fans voted George #2 in the 100 Greatest Stand-Ups of All Time, runner-up only to Mr. Richard Pryor!

Since the ’70s he continued to challenge the establishment, talking at length about the government, religion, drugs, and obscenity. He was arrested several times for indecency because he performed his routine Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television on stage, after it was ruled as indecent to broadcast on air in 1978 by the Federal Communications Commission.

I remember laughing along to his CD A Place for My Stuff (1981) featuring the treats of A Place for My Stuff, Join the Book Club, and Asshole, Jackoff, Scumbag. It’s a collection of studio recordings piss-taking ridiculous commercials and TV shows. Sometimes I had to listen to the tracks 2 or 3 times just to made sure I heard every quick succession of jokes that he uttered.

A few years ago I found his book When Will Jesus Bring The Pork Chops? (2004) in a bargain book outlet for just a few dollars. It was the cheapest bunch of laughs I’ve ever had. It’s not often I laugh out loud while I’m reading, but Carlin had such a way with words. He would twist them up and spit them out quicker than your ears could absorb them!

Carlin also starred in a few classic films, namely as Rufus the future dude in Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989) and the sequel Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey (1991).  He also made a couple of cameo appearances in the Kevin Smith films Dogma (1999) and Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back (2001), so I presume Kevin was a bit of a Carlin fan as well.

George Carlin Quotes:

  • Most people are not particularly good at anything.
  • The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone said to themselves, “You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done”.
  • One great thing about getting old is that you can get out of all sorts of social obligations just by saying you’re tired.
  • I think I am, therefore I am. I think.

  • I had no shoes, and I felt sorry for myself until I met a man who had no feet. I took his shoes. Now I feel better.

  • Chances are your sister is full of shit.
  • People who see life as anything more than pure entertainment are missing the point.

The twisted sad joke for me is that George passed away on my birthday. That’s not funny, you bastard!

Further Exploration:

Other samples you might enjoy:

Who do you rate as your favourite comedian?

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

