Video: Nirvana on MTV respond to the public’s reaction of In Utero!

This September Nirvana’s album In Utero turns 20 years old. To celebrate this monumental milestone Universal Music are releasing another deluxe box set and anniversary editions to get your filthy paws on from 23 September 2013 (or 24 September 2013 in the US).

In Utero: 3CD + 1DVD Super Deluxe Box Set $149.98 (US):

  • 70+ remastered, remixed, rare and unreleased recordings, B-sides, compilation tracks, demos, and live material featuring the final lineup of Kurt Cobain, Krist Noveselic, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear.
  • DVD of the complete Live and Loud show recorded at Seattle’s Pier 48 on 13 December 1993 (featuring Kurt Cobain, Krist Noveselic, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear)
  • Never-before-released bonus material

In Utero: 3LP Anniversary Edition $59.95 (US):

  • Original album remastered at Abbey Road Studios on 2LPs (High fidelity 45 RPM)
  • Remastered B-sides, never-before-heard mixes and bonus tracks from the original album release (33 1/3 RPM LP)
  • All 3LPs are on 180 gram vinyl

In Utero: 2CD Deluxe Edition $29.98 (US):

  • Original album remastered at Abbey Road Studios
  • Never-before-heard demos, mixes, B-sides,  and bonus tracks from the original album release

In Utero: 1CD $9.98 (US):

  • Original album remastered at Abbey Road Studios

Live and Loud DVD: $24.98 (US):

  • Live and Loud show recorded at Seattle’s Pier 48 on 13 December 1993 (featuring Kurt Cobain, Krist Noveselic, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear)

You can pre-order this shit now!

This also means it’s been 20 years since I walked into my local Brashes record store and purchased In Utero on cassette (*gasp*) for my sister’s birthday. It was equally the best present I have ever bought anyone else and the best gift I enjoyed that I did not receive personally! The gift that keeps on giving, perhaps?

I was so enraptured with In Utero that I remember getting really excited when I read in the local street press the following year that Nirvana were rumoured to return to Australia to tour. A few short months later Cobain passed away of his own accord and I was devastated.

All I had left to console myself was In Utero.

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

