Video: Vista Chino Peace Album Preview (Napalm Records) 

I am suitably impressed by Peace the new album from Vista Chino (Kyuss TAFKA) released last month. I didn’t expect greatness since Josh Homme wasn’t providing guitar riffs. How silly I was to dismiss vocalist John Garcia, bassist Nick Oliveri and drummer Brant Bjork so easily (and their Belgian friend Bruno Fevery on guitar).

I urge you to also give Peace a listen and even spend your hard-earned bitcoins. I am that impressed.

Vista Chino - Peace

Vista Chino – Peace

Which album option you buy is your own tricky decision: Digital only, Limited digipack, Golden 2-LP Gatefold, Orange 2-LP Gatefold, Blue 2-LP Gatefold, Desert Edition (includes Slipmat and Trucker Hat). I suggest you get the trucker hat – you will look great in it, I promise.

In the studio recording the album John Garcia was able to record vocals for Dargona Dragona on Jim Morrison’s old U87 mic. Apparently, it was Robby Krieger (The Doors) suggestion as he is friends with the band’s engineer, Harper Hug.

Are Vista Chino as good as Kyuss, you ask?

I’d slot them between old school Kyuss and Slo Burn, but much closer to Kyuss than you would think.

Should I go and see Vista Chino live if I get the chance?

Yes. I saw Kyuss Lives! on their first tour (with Nick on bass) and they rocked, and also when they toured earlier in the year as Vista Chino at the Soundwave Festival they were good. Mike Dean from Corrosion of Conformity covers their bass needs on tour now that Nick is unable to tour.

Luckily for some of you rockers Vista Chino embark on a European tour in October and November 2013.

Who would win in a tug of war between Queens Of The Stone Age and Vista Chino?

Obviously, QOTSA would win as they have more members. These questions are getting silly.

A great track from Peace is Dargona Dragona and is currently spinning on Soundcloud:

“Try Vista Chino’s new album Peace. It’s desert rock for those times when you yearn for more Breaking Bad.” – Noisy Noodle.

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

