Video: Mastodon Dry Bone Valley Official Music Clip

Mastodon, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Eagles of Death Metal are heading for the Soundwave Festival 2014. Wow, crossing your fingers does work! The line-up dropped late last night and wasn’t I pleased my two favourite metal acts are on the bill once again?

Mastodon are playing busy bees working on their follow-up to The Hunter this year, so might the new album be ready in time for February? I tip new material is going to be beamed into my ears in 2014 and… I’m going to love it!

TDEP obviously dropped one crazy MF album, One of Us Is The Killer, earlier in the year that requires a live performance analysis (without coming home with any injuries). What was the story with the Prancer official lyric clip providing the definition of a swan song? I know what the fuck a swan song is boys, and my favourite current live act is not allowed to have one!

If I have to lock you in a large heavy-duty cupboard (because you like to run around and smash things quite a lot) and make you play intense music for 45 minutes everyday for the sake of humanity, I will do my duty.

I’m going to use my spider intuition and predict that Primus will also join the fold in round three of announcements… because it kind of has already been revealed when the 2013 Harvest Festival was cancelled.

But if crossing my fingers actually bears any weight than peoples I’m doing it right now for some love towards New Zealand’s finest sludge rockers, Beastwars. I still have one more hand folks, and on that hand I’ve got some fingers crossed over for Melbourne’s own metal-hardcore-rock outfit High Tension with the best Aussie chick screams this side of the Hume Highway.

Unlikely? Probably, but if AJ Maddah wants some freaking fresh awesomeness they are the dudes to call.

Soundwave Festival 2014 Lineup – 2nd Announcement:

  • A Day to Remember
  • Mastodon
  • HIM
  • Pennywise
  • Jimmy Eat World
  • Glassjaw
  • Panic! At The Disco
  • Eagles of Death Metal
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan
  • Less Than Jake
  • Mayday Parade
  • Sevendust
  • Crosses
  • Suicide Silence
  • The Porkers
  • Gojira
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Zebrahead
  • Satyricon
  • Dream on Dreamer
  • Mutemath
  • Desaparecidos
  • Stiff Little Fingers
  • They Art Is Murder
  • Graveyard
  • Dir En Grey
  • Deez Nuts
  • InHeartsWake
  • Breathe Carolina
  • Defiler
  • I Call Fives
  • Hacktivist
  • Devil You Know
  • Soil
  • The Boss Hoss
  • Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats
  • Nostalghia
  • Upon a Burning Body

Soundwave Festival 2014 Lineup – 1st Announcement:

  • Green Day
  • Avenged Sevenfold
  • Stone Temple Pilots (with Chester Bennington, still no Scott Weiland folks!)
  • Alice in Chains
  • Rob Zombie
  • Megadeth
  • Placebo
  • AFI
  • Korn
  • Alterbridge
  • Trivium
  • Down
  • Devildriver
  • Newsted
  • Biffy Clyro
  • Rocket From The Crypt
  • Asking Alexandria
  • Clutch
  • Alkaline Trio
  • Baroness
  • Five Finger Death Punch
  • August Burns Red
  • Testament
  • Living Colour
  • LetLive
  • Motionless In White
  • Gwar
  • Black Dahlia Murder
  • Mushromhead
  • Finch
  • Pulled Apart by Horses
  • Ill Nino
  • Nancy Vandal
  • Bowling For Soup
  • Trash Talk
  • Skindred
  • Volbeat
  • Amon Amarth
  • Terror
  • Whitechapel
  • Tesseract
  • The Story So Far
  • Hardcore Superstar
  • 10 Years
  • Walking Papers
  • Our Last Night
  • Coliseum
  • Your Demise
  • Heaven’s Basement
  • Real Friends
  • With a 3rd announcement to come with more internationals to be revealed

See Soundwave Festival 2014 Lineup Announced for tickets and dates.

There is a distinct lack of old school hip-hop on this bill. That must be another ace up the sleeve. I would still like to see Ice-T ditch SVU for 2 weeks and bring Bodycount back to our shores. My second hope was for Public Enemy to bring down the house, but that was dashed when the Golden Plains Festival stole them as headliners.

Are Run-D.M.C holograms too much to ask for?

Watch TDEP’s When I Lost My Bet clip – there is another fucking swan in it. I’m not liking where this is heading.

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

