Video: The National Acoustic Performance of I Need My Girl* @ Gibson Texas Showroom (6 October 2013)

Did you miss out on tickets to see The National? Well cry no more as their gig this weekend at the Sydney Opera House Forecourt is to be streamed live over the internets.

YouTube is hosting the event titled “Live At The House” (really inventive title Opera House peeps) from 8.20pm, Saturday, 8 February 2014.  What time is that in my City? World clock it, baby (see Sydney/Melbourne AEST)!

It might be your first chance to hear live performances of tracks from their epic 2013 release Trouble Will Find Me (#2 in my 2013 best of).

I’m bound to meet stalk Matt Berninger this weekend when he visits my sunny** hometown, so I can exchange notes with you next week about performances.

I also have another gift to tell you about.

One lucky aficionado can win a $500 American Express gift card for Valentine’s Day if they send The National a cover of I Need My Girl.

Cue laughter… are you contemplating sending The National a copy of you singing an inferior version of their own song?

Okay, Sharon Van Etten you are an exception, that would sound amazing!

* I Need My Girl sounds like this, before you run away and murder it!

** It has been 30+ degrees celsius in Melbourne for ages, so I’m adding unexpected adjectives wherever I goddamn like today.

The National Live Concert @ Ancienne Belgique, Brussels, Belgium on 21 November 2010   Photo by @Kmeron, Source: http://www.flickr.com/people/frf_kmeron/

The National Live Concert @ Ancienne Belgique, Brussels, Belgium on 21 November 2010
Photo by @Kmeron, Source: http://www.flickr.com/people/frf_kmeron/

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

