Video: Father John Misty Nancy From Now On Acoustic Performance @ Pandora Whiteboard Sessions (26 October 2012)

Father John Misty (the stage name of ex-Fleet Foxes, Joshua Tillman) says he always knew he could sing like a motherfucker. I might be paraphrasing his reply in an interview, or probably not, as he swears a lot too.

His voice makes me feel like the 6-year-old who would stare for hours into my cousin’s giant stereo speakers when I listened to The Beach Boys albums. Listening to The Beach Boys would make the 6-year-old me hyper happy.

Father John Misty’s 2012 release Fear Fun takes me to the same happy place. A smirk seems to appear on my face whenever I’m about to select the album from my collection. The lyrics are pure gold as they are funny, sound like prose, and are a bit out there like Tillman himself.

I think Tillman is too charismatic for religion with his charming demeanor, swinging hips, and crooning vocals. This is a dangerous combination for society. I hope he doesn’t start a cult as I fear I’m already converted.

Tillman’s latest project involved creating a limited edition unisex fragrance called Innocence by Misty.

It probably smells funny.

Father John Misty live at Fitzgerald's, Houston, Texas, 25 May 2012 Photo by: Derek Key, Source: http://www.flickr.com/people/derekskey/

Father John Misty live at Fitzgerald’s, Houston, Texas, 25 May 2012
Photo by: Derek Key, Source: http://www.flickr.com/people/derekskey/

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

2 responses »

  1. Blathering says:

    I’m a bit slow on the uptake here….I only just purchased Fleet Foxes 2008 album “Fleet Foxes” last week when I found it at a great little record/CD shop in Newtown Sydney brand new for $9. I hadn’t ever listened to them before even though they’d been recommended to me years ago by a friend with impeccable music taste. At the moment I am hooked on it. When I get over it, I’ll look into Father John Misty!

Leave a Reply

