Video: Sam Simmons’ TV show Problems (featuring Ronny Chieng, Lawrence Mooney, Anthony Morgan)

There are just 11 days until the 2014 Melbourne International Comedy Festival takes hold of your funny bone. Prepare to wet yourself from 26 March – 20 April 2014.

This is my favourite festival of all the annual festival festivities held in Melbourne. My first visit was way back in 1994 when I saw a young Jack Dee (UK) and we had to sneak in late without being called out as the cab driver took us to the wrong Victoria Street (pre-GPS times were tough!).

I’m looking forward to another year of laughs and trying out a few comedians that I’ve never seen live before. Usually it is hit, rather than miss, but when its bad you’ll want to crawl under your seat and run to the nearest exit sign.

I was lucky enough to see comedy newcomer Ronny Chieng (This is Littleton, It’s A Date) support Dave Chappelle earlier this month, and I would recommend you check him out at the festival if you have time.

I was also impressed with Khaled Khalafalla who I saw late last year, he polarised the audience with his dark humour, but for me he has a bright future as a comedian willing to take risks and deviate from the norm.

I haven’t seen UK comedian Matt King (Peep Show) perform live for many years, but I do know from his stint in Melbourne in the 90’s that he was always a good laugh, so if I have time I’ll try to see him perform again.

I have prepared for you a few Festival highlights below as the program can be a bit overwhelming to study.

I have seen the majority of the comedians below (or I’ve heard good things), and I’m recommending Michael Winslow to the 5-year-old within you that still loves to hear sound effects from the Policy Academy movies.

Don’t bullshit me that you’ve never seen Bobcat Goldthwait and Michael Winslow in action!

2014 Comedy Festival Highlights:

  • Upfront (The glamour girls of comedy) – Wednesday 16 April
  • RAW Comedy National Grand Final – Sunday 13 April
  • Set List (Improv Comedy) – 4-19 April
  • Paul Foot
  • David O’Doherty
  • Michael Winslow (Policy Academy)
  • Bob Saget (Full House)
  • Julian Clary (Sticky Moments with Julian Clary)
  • Stephen K. Amos
  • Jason Byrne
  • Shappi Khorsandi
  • Matt King (Peep Show)
  • Reginald D. Hunter
  • Tim Vine (The Sketch Show)
  • Greg Behrendt
  • Steve Hughes
  • Kevin Bridges
  • Doc Brown (Derek)
  • Colin Hay (Men At Work)

The Aussies:

  • John Safran (Triple J)
  • Sam Simmons (Problems, Triple J)
  • Rod Quantock
  • Dave Callan (Triple J, Good Game)
  • Hannah Gadsby (Adam Hills Tonight)
  • Tom Gleeson (This Week Live, skitHOUSE)
  • Fiona O’Loughlin
  • Lawrence Mooney (Dirty Laundry)
  • Frank Woodley (Woodley)
  • Colin Lane
  • Greg Fleet
  • Wil Anderson (The Gruen Transfer)
  • Adam Rozenbachs (Spicks and Specks)
  • Dave Thornton (This Week Live)
  • Heath Franklin (The Ronnie Johns Half Hour)
  • Ronny Chieng (This Is Littleton)
  • Celia Pacquola (Laid)
  • Adam Spencer (Sleek Geeks)
  • Dave O’Neil
  • Sarah Kendall
  • Felicity Ward (The Ronnie Johns Half Hour)
  • Luke McGregor (2013 Best Newcomer Award Winner)
  • Mel Buttle (2013 Directors’ Choice Award Winner)
  • Tommy Little (This Week Live)
  • Matt Okine (Triple J, This Is Littleton)
  • Khaled Khalafalla (2011 RAW Comedy Runner-Up)

Feel free to suggest your favourite comedians performing at the festival this year.

Melbourne International Comedy Festival 26 March - 20 April 2014, Source: https://www.facebook.com/melbournecomedy

Melbourne International Comedy Festival 26 March – 20 April 2014, Source: https://www.facebook.com/melbournecomedy

Further Exploration:

Previously on Sampling Station:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

