Video: D.R.I. Perform Thrashard & Who Am I Live @ Saint Vitus, NYC 26 February 2013

Crying out for some old school thrash today, punk? Of course you are! Enjoy some D.R.I. circa 2013.

Dirty Rotten Imbeciles (D.R.I.) gave a hell of a performance at The Hi-Fi in Melbourne (3 May 2014) given they aren’t spring chickens anymore (I’m not casting stones, neither am I) forming in Houston, Texas way back in 1982. That’s 32 years of hardcore for those who failed basic maths.

Vocalist Kurt Brecht had the crowd eating out of the palm of his hand. He even convinced security to let the crazy mob up on stage for some diving action. Original guitarist Spike Cassidy pulled faces and jammed out as you might have expected.

Bassist Harald Oimoen was in charge of crowd entertainment. I wonder if you can hire him out for parties? Rob Rampy wasn’t showing his age on the drums unlike others of his vintage (cough, Lars Ulrich, cough).

I hadn’t had so much fun since seeing Suicidal Tendencies own Festering Festival Hall back in 1993. Sorry, Alice in Chains but it’s true.

Further Exploration:

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

