Video: The Angels Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again Live @ Royal Melbourne Showgrounds (20 February 1998) 

As a child of the 80’s it would be remiss of me not to acknowledge the passing of one of Australia’s greatest rock frontmen, Doc Neeson of The Angels. On 4 June 2014, Neeson sadly lost his 18-month battle with cancer at the age of 67.

I obviously grew up listening to The Angels all over commercial radio and our other religion, watching ABC’s Countdown every week without fail. However, I can clearly remember the glee that ran across my little face when I first heard the “complete” lyrics to Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again, ahem… No Way, Get Fucked, Fuck Off! 

My head nearly exploded. A chant of profanity that wasn’t in the radio-friendly version? This was totes amazeballs (or whatever ridiculous slang an 8-year-old would have said back in the 80’s).

I spent one Saturday afternoon in April weeping while watching a replay of ABC’s Australian Story which featured Neeson and his battle with brain cancer. I enjoyed figuring out the mystery of why Neeson would wear long jackets (even in summer) when he performed on stage to appear subsequently more dishevelled as the show went on (genius!).

I not only wept when I heard his cancer had returned, but I wept along when he very proudly received his Order of Australia medal!

I suggest you do the same and head over to ABC iView before the screening of A Very Good Rascal ends on 4 July 2014.

Vale Doc Neeson!

 

Doc Neeson (The Angels) @ The Forum, November 2008, Photo by: Mandy Hall, Source: https://www.flickr.com/people/pixels-bandwidth/

Doc Neeson (The Angels) @ The Forum, November 2008, Photo by: Mandy Hall, Source: https://www.flickr.com/people/pixels-bandwidth/

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a Reply

