Video: Comedian Rik Mayall The Party (The Young Ones).

British comedy legend Rik Mayall (The Young Ones, Bottom, Blackadder, Drop Dead Fred) passed away today aged 56. What an utter, utter, utter, bastard! Alan B’Stard, on occasions.

Up yours! How am I ever going to watch The Young Ones repeats again and dream of joining you as an anarchist? You and Ade Edmondson were a like a matching pair of odd socks – comfortable, funny and weird.

I think I went through a stage of watching The Young Ones every year and having a new favourite cast member, so originally I loved the character of Neil when I was in primary school, but Rick was my second favourite upon repeated viewing in high school, until I loved the very mental metal Vyvyan.

I remember the time when we somehow got to listen to Cliff Richard & The Young One’s song Living Doll in school because it made it to #1 on the Australian charts so it featured on the news program for snotty kids Behind The News. I didn’t care to ask why, as it was an excuse to see more of The Young Ones!

I should stop reading the news on my way to work, as I just keep reading about the death of my childhood idols.

Tonight, I’m going to put on 80’s new hair wave band Human League and dance like Rick until 1am in the morning, even though I don’t know how to (nor thankfully do I have any Human League albums).

The Young Ones: Every Stoopid Episode DVD Cover

The Young Ones: Every Stoopid Episode DVD Cover

 

 

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

6 responses »

  1. He was truly amazing and such a shock to hear of his passing.

  2. maria says:

    I’ve been thinking for ages that I must find some Blackadder on DVD but now I think I must get The Young Ones on DVD too. Bloody bastard.

Leave a Reply

