Video: Primal Scream Kowalski Music Clip.

Sad news today from the UK that former founding member of Primal Scream, guitarist Robert Young has died. Young and vocalist Bobby Gillespie met in school in Glasgow, and Young originally joined the band on bass.

Young left the band in 2006 to sort out personal issues, and while details of his death have not been made public as yet, tributes are flowing across the globe from his loved ones (from author Irvine Welsh, Tim Burgess (The Charlatans) to Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher).

I can recall one of the best nights of my life dancing non-stop at a Primal Scream concert on 4 October 1997 at The Forum, Melbourne.

Vanishing Point had been released and the entire crowd was dancing their socks off, and I was gearing up to hear my all time favourite Primal Scream song Kowalski. The band were 150% in tune with the audience and nothing could have been better. Oh my god, it was orgasmic.

Thank you Rob for the memories. I’ll always remember the amazing times I had at each and every Primal Scream show I ever attended.

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

2 responses »

  1. Blathering says:

    Spooky…I had an urge to listen to Primal Scream last week & found my CD of Screamadelica so I could have them playing in the car! I never saw them live though….that would have been awesome!

    • noisynoodle says:

      That is weird, and a great album to feel compelled to play! If they come back to Melbourne seriously consider seeing them as you’ll have so much fun at their show, the whole band work the audience.

Leave a Reply

