Video: Augie March There Is No Such Place Music Video.

One Crowded Hour was a wonderful little ditty by Melbourne indie-folk band Augie March. Before that international hit, the band spent many years playing in pubs across my hometown to craft their fine music.

There Is No Such Place is a song from their first album Sunset Studies (2000) and I’m sure you can hear the way the song is delicately delivered, and you would understand why Augie March would go on to become one of Australia’s greatest bands.

In 2014, after a 5 year hiatus the band returned in remarkable form with a new album Haven’s Dumb. The album contains one of the most chilling songs I have heard played live in my life, Definitive History. It captures the starkness of Australia today all too well.

I think it might be their finest song yet.


Video: Augie March Definite History Music Video.

Further Exploration:

Sounds of Melbourne:

Augie March, Source: http://www.augiemarch.com.au

Augie March, Source: http://www.augiemarch.com.au

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

4 responses »

  1. Blathering says:

    Wow, I enjoyed listening to both of those a lot! There was a time when I listened to Strange Bird so much that I kind of overdid it and lost sight of how beautiful their music is. I’ve only got Strange Bird and Moo You Bloody Choir. Must pull out the old albums….and get the new one!

    • noisynoodle says:

      Cheers Blathering, glad you enjoyed hearing both the old and new tracks! Yeah, I think all their albums have special qualities so they can be enjoyed for different reasons. Havens Dumb is definitely worth buying – one of my favs of the year.

  2. They were always pretty audacious. From memory, there debut album came in at nearly 80 minutes !!!

Leave a Reply

