Soundgarden Birth Ritual Live at Soundwave Festival Melbourne, 22 February 2015.

In 1992, I suffered through the Cameron Crowe love story Singles just to hear any remnant of one of my favourite bands from Seattle. Luckily, Alice in Chains appeared briefly in the film (on stage as a band) and I enjoyed 3 minutes of an otherwise waste of 99 minutes. Despite the fact that I’ll never be able to burn the image of Matt Dillon with faux long hair out of my eyes.

But alas, there was the Singles Soundtrack which became the soundtrack to my summer that year. After I stopped obsessively playing Would? for 16 hours a day, I did find other tracks on the soundtrack that I loved.

Birth Ritual is one such track and it was from the first Seattle band I had a crush on, Soundgarden. Those Louder Than Love blokes had me in 1989 with Chris Cornell’s wail and standing on speakers in his long shorts.

The band stopped playing the song in 1992. Coincidence, or were Soundgarden as deeply scarred by the movie Singles as I was?

Nevertheless, it is now 23 years later and Soundgarden have been playing the Soundwave Festival in Australia and have started playing Birth Ritual again.

All is forgiven Cameron Crowe.

Kim Thayil & Chris Cornell at 2015 Soundwave Festival, Melbourne. Photo by Paul Lorkowski, Source: https://www.facebook.com/Soundgarden

Kim Thayil & Chris Cornell at 2015 Soundwave Festival, Melbourne. Photo by Paul Lorkowski, Source: https://www.facebook.com/Soundgarden

About noisynoodle

I am a noisy noodle hailing from Melbourne, Australia who loves listening to noise in all forms, but preferably in music, TV and film. I’ve moonlighted on community radio at SYN-FM many years ago when I was still a “youth”. My mission is to promote live music (get off your bum and see something!), highlight interesting TV shows that are ignored by the ratings, expose some cool films and to not go deaf trying!

Leave a comment